Our commitment regarding
sustainable development

FSC® certification

To Groupe Crête, adhering to the highest standards in terms of forestry management is the focus of our business philosophy. Regarding this, being certified by the Forest Stewardship Council® (FSC®) is a great source of pride for the managers and the employees. With its FSC® certification, Groupe Crête is committed to make sure the forests of Quebec are regenerating and can fulfil their duty as the lungs of our planet.

FSC® certification is an international certification and labelling system dedicated to the promotion of a responsible management of the forests on our planet. That means our forests are evaluated based upon strict environmental and social standards of the FSC®.

The FSC® enables businesses and customers to make informed choices regarding the forest products they buy, and we induce positive changes in order to keep our forests healthy for the upcoming generations …

Sustainable development as our top priority

Groupe Crête also adheres to the three pillars of sustainable development, namely: the respect and valorisation of the environment, the economic development, and the social development.

1. Valorisation of the environment:

– Respect of the wildlife habitat and the fauna;
– Reforestation;
– Selective logging;
– Respect of timber licences.

2. Economic development:

– Stability regarding rural employment;
– Economic benefits on the local and regional scales.

3. Social development:

– Harmonious relationship with local communities;
– Workforce training.

Proactive approach for a sound management of forest resources

The forests in Quebec constitute a common wealth, and their survival is essential to the continuation of our company. We firmly believe that a sound and responsible management of our forests is an inherent component of the profitability of our practice. Therefore, in order to improve constantly our forest operations, we proactively act to protect and fuel the forest development. Our forestry team regularly visits each site for which we have lumber licences to ensure that the forest regenerates adequately.

Our forest operations are carefully planned and executed in cooperation with stakeholders, from the elaboration of the cutover plans to the harvesting of trees in the forest. The harvesting is organized strategically according to the needs in lumber from the markets we serve. This crucial step of our operation is made with respect to the natural dynamic of forests, with our focus on ensuring the sustainability of the resources.

Notre engagement pour
le développement durable

Certification FSC®

Pour le Groupe Crête, adhérer aux normes les plus élevées en matière de gestion forestière est au cœur de notre philosophie d’entreprise. À cet égard, l’obtention de la certification Forest Stewardship Council® (FSC®) est une grande source de fierté pour les membres de la direction ainsi que pour nos employés. En étant certifié FSC, le Groupe Crête s’engage à permettre à la forêt québécoise de se régénérer et de continuer de jouer son rôle de poumon de la planète.

La certification FSC est un système international de certification et d’étiquetage dédié à la promotion de l’aménagement responsable des forêts de la planète. Cela signifie que des forêts sont évaluées en fonction des normes environnementales et sociales strictes du FSC.

FSC permet aux entreprises et aux consommateurs de faire des choix éclairés au sujet des produits forestiers qu’ils achètent et nous induisons des changements positifs pour garder nos forêts en santé pour les générations à venir…

Le développement durable au cœur de nos priorités

Le Groupe Crête adhère également aux trois piliers du développement durable, soit le respect et la valorisation de l’environnement, le développement économique ainsi que le développement social.

1. Valorisation environnementale :

  • Respect des habitats et du milieu faunique;
  • Reforestation;
  • Coupes sélectives;
  • Respect des permis de coupe.

2. Développement économique :

  • Stabilité des emplois en région;
  • Retombées économiques locales et régionales.

3. Développement social :

  • Relation harmonieuse avec les communautés locales;
  • Formation de la main-d’œuvre.

Une approche proactive pour une gestion saine des ressources forestières

Nos forêts québécoises constituent une richesse commune dont la survie est essentielle à la pérennité de notre entreprise. Nous croyons fermement que la gestion saine et responsable de la forêt est une composante indissociable de la rentabilité de nos activités. Par conséquent, dans une optique d’amélioration continue de nos opérations forestières, nous agissons de façon proactive pour protéger et alimenter le développement de la forêt. Notre équipe de foresterie visite régulièrement chacun des sites pour lesquels nous possédons des droits de coupe afin de s’assurer que la forêt se régénère adéquatement.

Nos opérations forestières sont méticuleusement planifiées et sont exécutées en concertation avec les intervenants du milieu, de l’élaboration des plans de coupe à la récolte des arbres en forêt. La récolte est organisée de façon stratégique en fonction des besoins en bois usiné des marchés que nous desservons. Cette étape cruciale de nos opérations est réalisée en respectant la dynamique naturelle des forêts, toujours dans l’optique d’assurer la pérennité de la ressource.